Fish Inspired by Klimt

Tropical-Fish

I was inspired by a painting by Klimt called “Philosophie“.  It was one of three paintings Klimt was commissioned to paint on the ceiling of the Great Hall at the University of Vienna.  They paintings were never displayed at the University because they came under attack for “perverted excess”.  They were stored at Schloss Immendorf, a castle in Vienna and were destroyed in 1945  when retreating German SS forces set fire to the castle.  All that is left are preparatory sketches and a few photographs of the work.  I don’t think my “Tropical Fish” can be deemed “perverted excess;” however,  I wanted that dreamy  quality that appears in the photographs of his work.  This was photographed with my Fuji X-Pro 1, processed in Photoshop CC, Nik Color Efex Pro and textures by 2 Lil Owls.

The image below is a departure from the black and white image above because I really loved this one in color.  All photos were taken at the wonderful Maritime Aquarimine in Norwalk, CT.  This is of the shark tank and I liked the dark mood of the shark in the background juxtaposed with the lighter fish in front.  This image was captured with my iPhone 5s and processed in Photoshop CC and Nik Color Efex Pro.  Textures are by 2 Lil Owls.

Sharks

2 thoughts on “Fish Inspired by Klimt

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.