NYC Building and Tree-Work Copy II

©2017 Karen Johnson All Rights Reserved

I photographed this down at the World Trade Center using my Fuji X-T1 with a 50MM-230MM lens.  The lens  is pretty heavy to hand hold but if I bracket I generally get the shot I want!  I wanted to experiment working with a zoom lens in the city so I could compress the foreground and the background.  This is something Saul Leiter did and it give your images more of a graphic look to them because it flattens out the depth of the image. The lens is quite sharp but I softened this image up to give more of a painterly feel.  My intention in shooting in the city that day was to really try to get more of a graphic or painterly feel and not the usual street photography look (which I love and do but I always have to try new things).

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

