All Is Not What It Seems

all-is-not-what-it-seems

I stumbled across this oil on canvas painting of a room, “Moonlight, Strandgade 30” by Vilhelm Hammershoi in the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s online open access digital collection and knew I wanted to use it.  I added the bookcase from an abandoned house I photographed, the man peering in is one of my vintage images and the gloves are also from the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s open access digital images.  I wanted this voyeur feel but I didn’t want it to be creepy, just mysterious.  Enough to make you wonder what is going on.

I would like to the thank the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  On February 7, 2017 the Museum made available to the public 375,000 digital images of their collection that is has been deemed to be in the public domain.  That is huge! Here is the link that explains how to use it.  I am a member of the museum and highly recommend becoming a member. It is such a beautiful museum and I it always a treat having lunch and spending the day at the museum.

 

2 thoughts on “All Is Not What It Seems

Leave a Reply

