Carrie Furnace – Stockhouse

The-Stockhouse

Last weekend I had the pleasure of attending an Abandoned America workshop at the Carrie Furnace in Rankin, Pennsylvania.  The Carrie Furnace was built in 1907 by US Steel and produced iron for the Homestead Works from 1907 to 1978.   The image above was taken in the Stockhouse where the raw material would be dropped through the v-shapped hoppers attached to the ceiling into “Larry Cars” and then the “Larry Cars” would be driven to the large furnaces and eventually turned into iron.

I photographed the image using my trusty Fuji X-T1 and the image is composed of 4-5 bracketed shots so that I could capture the light as I saw it at that time. I loved the shadows and moodiness of this place.  I will most definitely make another trip out to the Carrie Furnace to photograph it again.  If you like steampunk, this is the place to go.

8 thoughts on “Carrie Furnace – Stockhouse

  1. You know what I like best about this shot? When I Google Image “Carrie Furnace” I don’t see hundreds of the same image. In fact, I saw none! Congrats! Great piece of art.

Leave a Reply

