The Picture of Doris Gray

The-Picture-of-Doris-Gray

I was thinking about movie “The Picture of Dorian Gray”, based on Oscar Wilde’s book, when I was creating this image.  I photographed the background at an abandoned house I had found.  The picture of the woman is one of my vintage images that I retouched and colorized.  The frame surrounding her actually hangs in my living room with my paternal grandfather’s portrait in it.  I will have to use him in a future image.

I purposefully kept her clean and bright, no real sign of aging because of the eternal youth theme that was prevalent in “The Picture of Dorian Gray”.  I also wanted a chiaroscuro kind of light within the image.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Picture of Doris Gray

  1. Beautifully done and captures the original literature very well. You can just imagine the portrait tucked away in a place like this.

  2. This is hauntingly beautiful. I just finished reading the book and love how young and pure she still looks. I can only imagine the horrors this painting will go through if Doris Gray would participate in the hedonistic lifestyle of Dorian.

    Wonderful job!

Leave a Reply

