The Pipe Room

Pipe-Room

I read a really great e-book this weekend on black and white fine art photography called “From Basics to Fine Art Black and White Photograph – Architecture and Beyond” by Joel Tjintjelaar and Julia Anna Gospodarou.  What I like about this book is the inspiration on photographing a place or object and then in the post processing make it your own vision.  Create what was in your mind when you first captured it in camera.  For me I see in light and shadows and darkness, especially with the abandoned places.  I am not a purist when it comes to photography in the sense that I don’t set out to capture reality, I set out to capture a vision or story that is in my head and the camera is only the first tool I use.  Once I get in front of the computer it is a playground for me to express what I see and translate that into something that is personal to my vision and the way I can express myself to the world.

When I photographed the room above I saw it as being very dark (and it was) but I wanted it to be in black and white so that any color would not distract from  the little bit of light within the darkness.

4 thoughts on “The Pipe Room

  1. Beautiful, Karen!

    On Sun, Mar 13, 2016 at 05:04 PM, Karen Johnson – A Photographic Life wrote:

    Karen Johnson posted: ”

    I read a really great e-book this weekend on black and white fine art photography called “From Basics to Fine Art Black and White Photograph – Architecture and Beyond” by Joel Tjintjelaar and Julia Anna Gospodarou.  What I like about this book is the in”

Leave a Reply

