Woman-by-Fireplace

This is another image that will be part of a series I am working on combining vintage photographs and abandoned places I have photographed.  The woman is from my collection of vintage photographs and the room she is in is in an abandoned house that was part of the “Steam and Steel” workshop I took with Abandoned America.  I colorized the vintage image of the woman in Photoshop cc and it is a process I really enjoy.  I love trying to pick a color to make her dress, eyes, adding lipstick and a little cheek color.  It harkens back to my color book days.  I added the night sky (I have this thing about night time), trees and a wisp of smoke to the fireplace.  I added the trees because I wanted a camera obscura look to it and was inspired by  the work of Abelardo Morell.  I always try for that haunting, moody look.

All the work was done through Photoshop CC using Topaz Restyle and Topaz Impressions filters as well as MacPhun Intensify.  The little alarm clock is a vintage graphics image from the Graphics Fairy.  The room was shot with my Pentax K-5 (pre Fuji days).

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

