Witch’s Tree

Witch-Tree

This image developed in my mind when I photographed this beautiful and haunting tree in Waveny Park, New Canaan, Connecticut and hearing the song “Hanging Tree” from the “Hunger Games” movie “Mockingjay, performed by Jennifer Lawrence, music by James Newton Howard.  The lyrics and music haunted me, “Are you, are you, coming to the tree, where I told you to run, so we’d both be free.  Strange things did happen here no stranger would it be. If we met at midnight, in the hanging tree.” Lyrics/words by Suzanne Collins author of the book “Mockingjay”.

The image is a composite of several images. The tree and landscape was photographed with my IPhone 5s, I was photographed with my Fuji X-Pro 1.  The bird is one of the Photoshop brushes by Distressedtextures and the ribbon is vector art from Graphics Fairy.  The clouds were photographed by me and the one texture I used is by Dirk Wuestenhagen.  I worked the image in Topaz Impressions using the Warm Haze filter and Nik Color Efex.  I darkened the ribbon to a blood-red because I wanted it as a symbol of “blind justice” or being blind to things in our life.  Not wanting to see or face things.  Between the lyrics and the image it just seemed to meld together.

5 thoughts on “Witch’s Tree

Leave a Reply

