The Tub

Pennhurst-Tub

I remember photographing this tub at Pennhurst State Hospital.  Pennhurst was one of those spooky asylums that was on my bucket list of places to photograph. Luckily, Matthew Christopher posted he was having an Abandoned America workshop there so I was able to go.  I remember walking into the room and seeing this great institutional tub and thinking what a great tub to use in a horror film.  With that in mind I photographed it from the front at this angle knowing I was going to use it somehow in a composite.

The image is a composite of the bathtub and me.  I wanted a ghostly feel to the image so I made the body transparent and I did not a have the head showing.  I don’t know why I didn’t want a head showing, but I didn’t want one.  This was photographed with my Fuji X-Pro 1. I worked the image in my usual manner of raw processing in Capture One, bringing into photoshop, working luminosity layers with three bracketed shots, bringing the image of myself in and really working with dodging and burning, Topaz Clarity, Topaz Impressions, Nik Color Efex Pro 4 and Macphun Tonality to get the color, light and feel I wanted.  I always work the light myself using dodging and burning layers with paint strokes on a very low flow capacity of 1%.  I also picked up a new Wacom Intous Touch tablet and love it.  I had an older Intous 4 which was the pricey higher model and I never liked it.  This one goes for about $89 on Amazon and has the pen as well as the touch pad so it just works seamlessly for me.  I think the lack of a touch pad on my old model was the reason I could never get use to it.

Well the weather has been really ice and treacherous here so I have spent the day indoors working on my images, reading and watching my British Mystery’s.

12 thoughts on “The Tub

  1. The transparency of the figure and the fact that it lacks a head, to me evokes the anonymity of asylum patients, forgotten people. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

