Old Ballroom

The-Pines-Ballroom

An old abandoned ballroom I photographed a month or so ago.  I loved the pale pink and greens, the tilted gilded light scones.  I could imagine all the parties that must have taken place here.  I think part of the reason I love photographing abandoned places because I can still see remnants of  what these places looked like when they were occupied and I like to capture that.  We discard so many beautiful buildings without a thought of bringing them back to life or putting them to use again.

Photographed with my Fuji X-Pro 1 35mm Fujinon lens. Processed in CaptureOne, Photoshop CC 2014 using luminosity masks, Macphun Intensify and Topaz Impressions.  I also want to give a plug to my friend and fellow photographer Matthew Christopher of Abandoned America.  He has a book out called “Abandoned America: The Age of Consequences” and you can buy it on Amazon here .  It is a gorgeous and beautifully written book and I highly recommend it.  Matthew is the reason I have been able to capture such great abandoned places and his images inspire me.

4 thoughts on “Old Ballroom

Leave a Reply

