More From the Victory Theater

Ladies-Loo

Two more from the Victory Theater in Holyoke, Massachusetts.  The top one is interesting because it was pitch black in there, I didn’t even know there was yellow tile until I processed the images.  Amazing what the camera can pull in the pitch dark that I cannot see.  I combined three exposures in photoshop using luminosity masks and then brought that into Macphun Intensify for clarity and color.  I then brought it into Topaz impressions and put a pastel filter on it and then brought back into Macphun Intensify to paint back in some of the detail in the sink.  I think I am going to put book together on abandoned bathrooms because I have pictures of bathrooms from almost every place I have gone to.  I think they show the degree of decay better than anything else.

The image below I actually posted up on Facebook on Abandoned America’s workshop site.  Same process as above.  I loved the detail of the red, white and blue tile on the ticket booth and the fading blue paint on the ceiling.  I was lucky to capture this because the front door was slightly open and let in just enough light to see the details  you can see that sliver of light on the tile floor.  The image below was taken after my Fuji X-Pro 1 took a tumble.  Just kept on working!

Ticket-Booth-wp

I have a show coming up with Red Circle Photo Arts at the Riverfront Gallery located in the Yonkers Library in Yonkers, NY.  The reception is November 12th from 6pm to 8pm and on November 20th from 6pm to 8pm we are having a “Meet the Artist” reception.  If you are around during either of those dates, please stop in and say hello.  I’m pretty excited because I’m printing two of my pieces “Girl on the Tracks” and “The Storm” on Aluminum which should be really interesting.

Leave a Reply

