Fort Hancock, Sandy Hook, NJ

 

House-on-the-Hill-Final

I took a ride down to Sandy Hook, NJ with two Fuji camera’s in hand to photograph the abandoned Officer’s Houses at Fort Hancock.  This area is now part of Gateway National Park.  It is a beautiful area and consists of not only these great abandoned houses and battlements but is home to some of the most beautiful beaches and wildlife.

The image above is one of the large Officer’s houses that sits up on top of this hill.  I wanted to give that old eerie look.  Something you find digging through an attic and wonder where this mysterious house was located.   I processed in my usual Capture One, Photoshop and Lightroom and Nik Color Efex but used some great textures from 2 Lil Owls.  The old antique frame is also from 2 Lil Owls.  This is a composite since I photographed this on a very bright sunny day and wanted to bring in some storm clouds which I had photographed the other week.

The image below was processed very similar to the one above but I used textures from Distressed Textures and Shadowhouse Creations.  The clouds were added and photographed by me.  I added a tint to give it that nostalgic look.

 

Walk-To-Officer's-House-Edit

11 thoughts on “Fort Hancock, Sandy Hook, NJ

  1. Love the Ft. Hancock Officers Row Picture!! Lived on the base from 1969 to 1971 and now I am ready to come back for a visit. Your picture brought back many memories, thanks.

  2. My first real boyfriend lived in one of these houses in the 1964 time era. His father was the base commander.
    His name was Jerry Johnson. I will never forget that summer!

Leave a Reply

