A Surreal Look at Pennhurst

Now-Your-in-Heaven

I was photographing at Pennhurst State School with the intention of creating my surreal conceptual images.  Here are two that I have been working on.

The image above I stumbled upon when I decided to insert an image of clouds into the windows.  The room was photographed in the Mayflower Building at Pennhurst. When I photographed the image the light pouring in through the windows was very bright and it really wasn’t adding anything to the image so I decided to fill the windows with clouds.  However, when I placed the cloud image in the layer above this hospital bed image I really liked the way the clouds were showing up on the ceiling, walls and floor.  It just gave it this surreal look so I went with it.  Everything was post processed in Photoshop CC, Lightroom and Nik Color Efex Pro.  I did not use any textures on this since the room is naturally textured from the decay.  Clouds were photographed by me. I used about 30 layers in this image working with dodging and burning, levels, and gradients.

The image below is also a composite of a room I photographed in Devon Hall at Pennhurst, a model (moi) and clouds I photographed this month.  The window was actually boarded up and I thought it was boring so I decided to go for that surreal feel and replace the boards with clouds.  I did use one texture from 2 Lil Owls which gave it this bent photograph look that I liked.  Birds are created with a photoshop brush and a little fog was also a photoshop image that I purchased through Phlearn.  I wanted the character to have this ghostly unworldly feel, hence the translucent quality to her body.  I processed in Photoshop CC, Lightroom and Nik Color Efex Pro.  All images at Pennhurst were shot with my Fuji X Pro 1, clouds with my Fuji x100s and me with my Pentax.

Pennhurst-Dark-Roomplaying

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “A Surreal Look at Pennhurst

Leave a Reply

