World of Make Believe

checkerboard cloudgirlv

I have had some free time to work a little more on my composites.  The case I was working on for the last 5 years settled so I am out and about looking for a new job and have a ton of free time to create my make believe worlds.  The image above is a composite of a great old lock and keys that my Dad had collected.  The image of me was shot in my home and I am actually wearing one of Dad’s old hats.  The checkerboard floor was created by me in photoshop and the sky is a combination of one I took and one that Brooke Shaden had in her texture set.  I did most of my work in Nik Color Efex 4 and Photoshop with a slight oil paint filter on it.  The images above were taken with my Fuji X-Pro1 and x100s.

The image below is a composite of the MTA train bridge connecting the Bronx to the island of Manhattan.  I photographed it with my Pentax K5 a few summers ago from the last train car on my commute home.  The image of me was taken in my home with my Fuji X-Pro1.  I processed the image in Photoshop, Lightroom 5 with a preset by Trey Ratcliff called Happy Baby and Nik Color Efex 4.  The clouds are again Brooke Shaden’s from her textures.  I also used textures by Dirk Wuestenhagen.  I again put a very subtle oil paint filter on it.

Girl on Track Final

11 thoughts on “World of Make Believe

  1. Pingback: World of Make Believe | Karen Johnson › By TOMEN

  2. Uuuh the athmosphere here! Hey, you shouldn’t be standing on the tracks like that!…
    The first image could be a painting by Magritte! And it also in a way reminded me of the cover of an album of Kate Bush…the lock, the key in her mouth, the woman herself the checkerboard design,..the complete mood…
    Such great stories!!

  3. Very intriguing work! There is a story in each image. Composite combos very well done. I’m starting to do a few of these things as well but may never catch up to you.

Leave a Reply

