Huber Coal Breaker

Huber Coal 4sm

 

Before I get into the Huber Coal Breaker I am in another exhibit with the Red Circle Photoarts Group called “Transform the Norm” at Ossining Library Gallery, Ossining, New York from January 5 – 30, 2014.  Opening reception is January 5th from 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm.

Transform Post Card

Back in October I traveled out to Ashley, Pennsylvania with two of my abandoned photography friends to photograph the Huber Coal Breaker.   The Huber Coal Breaker was built in 1939 and closed in 1976.  It is the last of the anthracite coal cleaning and processing plants.  Unfortunately it was sold this past August for scrap metal and is in the process of being dismantled.  I wanted to get out there and photograph it before it was gone.  I will be posting more images of this coal breaker in future posts.

The image above is the main coal breaking building and stands 7 stories high.  I ventured to climb as far as the fourth floor, which is quite intimidating because the stairways are old and rusted, the floors have large holes and the windows are all broken out.  If you have a fear of heights, which I do, it is pretty scary as you can see by the image below.  Photographed on the 4th floor of the main coal breaker you can see a hole in the floor which you could easily catch your foot in and the open space where a window use to be.  You have to watch where you are at all times so you don’t do a 4 story tumble. All images, except this one was photographed with my Fuji X-Pro 1.  This one was photographed with my Pentax K-5 which I used as my hand held camera.

Huber Coal 5sm

The image below is looking up the main conveyer belt that runs from a small outbuilding to the seventh floor of the main building.

Huber Coal 1 sm

 

The image below is of a staircase within the power plant that provided the electrical power to run all the machinery.

Huber Coal 3sm

 

I wish you all a very Happy & Healthy New Year!

4 thoughts on “Huber Coal Breaker

Leave a Reply

