Underwater

Asleep Underwater sm

 

First I would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas, a Season of Joy and a very Happy & Healthy New Year!

This past Tuesday we had a snowstorm that really was not as bad as it could be but it was bitter cold and the roads were not good to travel on, so I stayed home from work.  I hate driving in the snow and ice and I rather miss a day’s pay then land up hurting myself or someone else.  I have a 7 mile drive to the train station and then once I am in NYC it can take me anywhere from 2 to 3 hours to get home depending on how bad the weather is.  So after a few hours being home I got a little antsy and started to think, what if I took a picture of myself with my iPad, then placed the iPad with the picture of me behind a glass fish bowl filled with water and then pour milk in the water to make it cloudy and photograph through this with my Fuji x100s?  The above image is what you get (I have a long wig on because I am never taking a picture of me as is, but as a character.  As I told my sister, I am not photogenic but all I want is a model ready willing and able and most of the time I am the only one around!).  I softened the image up in Nik Color Efex Pro and Nik Analog, then dropped a texture by Brooke Shaden on it as well as a photograph I took out of a rain soaked window at Columbia University Medical Center last March.  I added a color filter in Photoshop CC called Underwater and the effect is asleep underwater.    I love experimenting with photography!

The image below is taken again with my iPad, placed behind a tall fluted glass vase filled with water and again shot through the vase with my Fuji x100s.  The backlight quality of the iPad makes it easy to get great light shooting with the Fuji.  I also added a shot of a fast running stream at Rockefeller Preserve to give the face an underwater quality again.   I used three different textures from Distressedtexures to finish it off.  I was striving for an moody, eerie other world feel to them.

Breaking the Surface sm

8 thoughts on “Underwater

Leave a Reply

