Rockville Bridge

Rockville Bridge-2-sm

I drove out to Scotland, Pennsylvania this weekend to photograph the Scotland School for Veteran’s Children.  It is a school that was abandoned in 2009 which is rather recent.  The cool part is a Seminary purchased it and they are in the process of renovating it and bringing it back to life.  I love to see these great old buildings put back to use.  I will have pictures from the school next week.  It was a 4 hour trip for me out there and I knew running in and out of multiple buildings and multiple floors with a backpack loaded with camera gear and tripod would wear me out fast.  So I decided to spend the night in Marysville, Pennsylvania at the Bridgeview B&B.  I stayed there twice before on a trip I had taken out to West Virginia and loved it.  It’s very small bed and breakfast, no tv or phone in the room (they do have wifi though), small room, private bath but it is very clean and very relaxing.  It is known to all Railfans and train enthusiast because it sits right on the edge of the Susquehanna River and has the view above of the well known Rockville Bridge; hence, the name Bridgeview.  The Rockville bridge sees all the trains coming and going from the Enola Train Yard.  The Enola Train Yard was built in 1902 and was the worlds largest train yard until 1956.  The Conrail train yard in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania is now the largest train yard.  It’s been said that Hitler first plan of attack on the U.S. was  the town of Enola because of the train yard.

This was image was taken at about 7:30 a.m. this morning and the fog and mist was just blowing across the entire area.  I photographed this with my new Fuji XPro-1 with a 35mm prime lens.  It is my new backup camera to my Pentax and I started shooting with both on all abandoned trips.  It is a very lightweight small, mirrorless camera that takes such incredibly sharp pictures it takes my breath away.  It has a rangefinder camera feel to it (think Leica) and I love it because it makes me stop and slow down my thinking so that I take the time to think about my composition more.  It’s a very different feel shooting with this camera and I love it.  Texture is “Vanilla Sky” by Dirk Wuestenhagen.

If you are ever in the Harrisburg, Pennsylvania area, I highly recommend Bridgeview B&B.  It really is a great place to kick back and relax.

I will have more photos in the next blog.  I’m just really pooped out from all the traveling and need time to get through two camera’s worth of images.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Rockville Bridge

  1. Karen this is beautiful work
    Do you know about my photography show?
    “FOTOFANTASMICS” will be presented in the museum August 31st through October 6th 2013.
    The photographs by Annette Wallach Cohen represent digital photography and manipulation at its best.
    The works become a synthesis of an exaggerated world filled with brilliant, saturated colors and shapes that expand
    upon the transient state of material by creating an ultra-real, “fantasmic” world.
    The museum can be visited daily whenever the synagogue is open.
    The Beth El Synagogue Center is located at 1324 North Avenue,
    New Rochelle, New York 10804.
    Telephone #(914) 235-2700
    Everyone is invited to the artist’s reception on Sunday, September 8, 2:00-4:30 PM.

  2. First of all this is an incredible image. So simple but yet so much to explore. Really wonderfully composed Karen. I’ve been thinking about getting a XPro or a Sony Nex as a lightweight backup. I think you’re convincing me to do so.

    • Thank you Edith! I looked at both and the X-Pro1 felt better in hand to me. It really is personal preference when holding the camera. I have on back order the Fuji x100s which will be my everyday street camera. Another awesome camera. I highly recommend these smaller cameras with the big image punch!

  3. You really captured the stillness of the scene. The grayness of the day. Really wonderfully handled in shop. A very careful hand. Congrats on it!

Leave a Reply

