Scranton Lace Company

 

 

Scranton Lace Clock smI

I was off again this weekend attending another workshop with Matthew Christopher of Abandoned America.  This time I was in Scranton, Pennsylvania at the former Scranton Lace Company.  The Scranton Lace Company was established in 1890.  It was known for producing Nottingham Lace.  The factory was closed in 2002 and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2012.  The building is 660,000 square feet with four levels of floors.  It would take at least a week to see the entire place.  We were very fortunate to have the entire run of the building to photograph it (except where it was marked off as dangerous – holes in floors, unstable flooring, etc.).  If you are into abandoned buildings, this place is awesome.  Matthew is planning on returning here for more workshops so keep checking out his site for future updates.

The image above is the clock tower which I actually climbed up into.  I’m not a big fan of heights but not only did I climb up once, but once I got up there I realized my camera battery was dead.  So down I came, inserted a fresh battery and up I went  again.  It’s amazing where I’ll go and what I’ll do for a shot.  I shot this from one of the rooftops that I stumbled upon in my wanderings. I added textures from Dirk Wuestenhagen and Brooke Shaden (I’m very excited to be taking a workshop with Brooke Shaden in October.  It’s at an abandoned mansion!).  Processed in Capture One, Photoshop CS6, and Nik Color Efex Pro.

The image below is of lace in carts.  It was left in the middle of the former gymnasium floor (they had a gymnasium in this building along with a bowling alley and a cafeteria).  I really loved the way the fabric flowed and the light hitting it.  Processed in Capture One, Photoshop CS6, Nik Color Efex Pro and finished off in Lightroom 5 using Trey Ratcliff’s preset in Aurora and Amazing Raisins.  Texture by Brooke Shaden.

Scranton Lace K5 _IGP6861-2Works in Progress sm

 

The image below was taken up in the attic area.  It is looking towards the rickety staircase I climbed up to explore.  Processed in Capture One, Photoshop CS6, Nik Color Efex Pro and texture by Shadowhouse Creations.

Scranton Lace K5 _IGP7116-2 sm

I will have more photos as I take a look through and process them.

 

 

20 thoughts on “Scranton Lace Company

  1. Yet another location I wish I had joined you on. I zoomed in a bit on your “Lace in the gym” shot. Great image, there are at least 3 more images contained in that one. Nice job.
    .

      • Smallapplebites: The lace was just laying there in the bins in the middle of the gym floor. You can move stuff around but I prefer to leave things as I see them. I don’t stage my shots. I don’t think there is anything wrong with it but I just don’t do it. I also have not seen “Sleep No More” but I’m going to move it up on my “must do” list. Thank you for the reminder!

    • Thank you Kathy! I had so much fun photographing the place and I am definitely going again when Matthew schedules it in October. There were about 19 of us and we never got into each others way because it was so massive. I went for periods of not seeing anyone or hearing anyone for stretches at a time.

  2. Oh, no! a dead battery – I’m sure it was worth the double climb.
    I do like the draped fabric- I can’t believe it has lasted at least 10 years/ It almost looks like a flock of sheep – maybe a flock of lace? Looking forward to more from the lace factory.

Leave a Reply

