The Pump House

Pump House 1smT

The Pump House is the old Peoples Water Company Pump House in Phillipsburg, New Jersey.  It was one of the four sites we visited during our Bethlehem Steel Mills workshop.  I love these large steam boilers because they have that “steam punk” look to them.  The spiral staircase really caught my eye.  I did use a slight texture in the image above by Kirsten Frank.

Another angle taken of the spiral staircase.  When I am shooting in these type of building I look for light and shadows to compose a shot.

Pump House 2sm

The image below is looking across a 30 foot drop in the pump house.  There is a collection of old signs that are stored here and I really like the “Terminal” one.  The black and white images where processed in Lightroom 5.  I found I liked the tonal ranges better there then in Silver Efex Pro.

Pump House 3-Vignette sm

16 thoughts on “The Pump House

  1. and what an eye you have!
    The colored one has a great depth of course, it puts the viewer inside the picture.
    But I also like the last one very very much, that completely different approach, almost 2-dimensional with limited perspective.

Leave a Reply

