Stella by Starlight

Vanderbilt Bridge 2c

 

I have just been at a loss for time this weekend.  I work very long hours during the week and really just have the weekend to work on my photography and that sometimes gets pushed to the side when other things come up that have to be done.   I had to work on these two images rather quickly yesterday and this evening and finally was able to get the mood and lighting I was looking for. I was inspired by the piano version of “Stella by Starlight”  from the movie “The Uninvited“.  A great 1944 “mystery/ghost” movie.  One of my favorite. Both images were shot at Vanderbilt Mansion in Hyde Park, New York.

The image above I really just wanted that soft moonlight kissed light on the statue and the image below I wanted a flash of  starlight and moonlight to show the bridge and water.  I wanted to leave a little mystery to where the bridge takes you. Textures are by Dirk Wuestenhagen and Distressedtextures.  Night filter by Filter Forge. The soft moonlight was created in Nik Color Efex 4 using “Glamour Glow”.  Both images were taken in broad daylight.  I love turning day into night!

Vanderbilt Bridge 1a copy

4 thoughts on “Stella by Starlight

    • Thank you Marcelo! I work in B&W quite a bit. On Google+ my street photography with my Android phone is mostly B&W. I use a camera app called CameraMX and the B&W filter is so close to film. Beats my dslr everytime.

Leave a Reply

