My 100th Post

Commute 2 copy

Today is my 100th post!  I can’t believe I have actually posted 100 times and haven’t run out of images yet!  I want to thank everyone who has visited my blog.  For those of you who have been kind enough to drop me a comment, thank you for sharing your thoughts. This is a labor of love and something that I am very passionate about.  The blog keeps me photographing the world, experimenting, and stepping out of my comfort zone creatively.  Thank you again for taking the time to look at my work!

Well, this week the images look blurry and they are!  I shot them with my little Huawei 8800 smartphone from the commuter train I take back and forth to work in New York City.  I have this great little camera app on it called Pro HDR.  HDR stands for High Dynamic Range  and what it does is with one click it takes three pictures at different exposures: one normal, one under exposed and one over exposed.  It then combines the three so that you are able to see detail in the highlights and shadows of an image.  Thus, the dynamic range of detail and light is increased or “higher”.  Well, one morning I’m on the train and I’m thinking wouldn’t it be cool to hold the smartphone up to the window while the train is moving and see how it combines the three different images it will capture. Generally when your shooting for a HDR photo you use a tripod and photograph a single scene three times.  Boring!  So my thought was wouldn’t it be cool to have it shoot the three images while going 50-60 miles an hour on the train.  That way each click will capture a different scene and then combine them all together to create a cool looking superimposed image.    I also like the way the above image has this very abstract graphic look to it.  There is one really sharp part of a building superimposed on the red building.

The image below it taken around 125th Street and I love the way the trees blurred but the buildings in the trees were actually down the way a bit.  It is now superimposed on top of the other two shots.  I think it has a fairy tale castle feel to it. The brownish line on the bottom is actually the little metal wall that runs along the railroad track.  All images have a cement like texture I added on from Distressedtextures.  All images were processed through Lightroom 4 and Photoshop CS5.  Nik Color Efex 4 Pro Contrast was used as well as noise and sharpening through Filterforge.

Commute 5 copy

Passing by the Bronxville train station.  I used a Bokeh texture I purchased from Aaron Nace of Phlearn.

Commute 6

The image below is actually captured  coming of the railroad bridge going over the East River in New York City.  The train takes the bridge at a slower speed so there isn’t as much superimposing on top of each other but enough to still make it interesting.

Commute 3 copy

 

 

11 thoughts on “My 100th Post

  1. Karen, congratulations and thank you for sharing your beautiful images. 100 posts is quite an accomplishment. I never know what to expect, am never disappointed, and am looking forward to your next 100 posts. This weeks photos are wonderful. Great colors and texture and just fun to look at. Keep it up!

  2. Congratulations on your 100th post! Thank goodness you explained that the images are expected to be out of focus – I was immediatly concerned that my eyeglasses prescription was off.
    Keep shooting and keep blogging!!

  3. and what a post!! Congrats!!
    and so different from your previous work! But certainly equally good!!! I especially like the first image, and its abstract touch. But then the last one is also so interesting: the most common sight but brought in a very unexpected and interesting light. Of course the plaster wall effect works very good on the cityscapes.

Leave a Reply

