Farmland

Farm 1b

 

I love driving up through Dutchess County, New York.  It’s an area that still has some great farms but also a lot of abandoned farms.  The image above is right off Route 22 and I just love the way the silos were left standing.  I added a cloud texture created by Brooke Shaden and a great texture by Shadowhouse Creations just to give it that ominous storm coming look.

The image below is a corn field right across the street from the silos.  I loved the composition of the road through the field but found the photo lacking in drama.  So I brought in a Brooke Shaden’s cloud texture again along with a cloud texture from Dirk Wuestenhagen to give it the color and feel that I wanted this image to have.

Farm 2b

8 thoughts on “Farmland

  1. the ominous..what is it…of the silos!
    I had never seen this type of silos before I came to the US
    a pity they are abandoned…but luckily so for this shot!

    the landscape, my grandmother had a painting with a similar landscape, yes, with the paint cracked like you’ve brought it into its texture

Leave a Reply

