Stone Barns

Stonebarns 1a

Stone Barns 1a by Karen Johnson is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available athttps://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

I trooped over to Stone Barns Center for Food & Agriculture last weekend to see what would inspire me on a cloudy and rainy day.  I’m still working on using texture and light to create dramatic landscapes and I’m finding I like photographing on overcast days to achieve this.

When I was approaching the beautiful stone barn above I noticed the way the branches reached down like skeletal fingers and framed it. On the image below I wanted  a golden light emanating from the center and dusting the landscape with gold.

Stone Barns 4

Stone Barns 4 by Karen Johnson is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available athttps://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

I shot this out of my car window because the rain was starting to come down hard. The blurriness is from the rain streaming on the window and I liked the effect it gave this particular shot.

Stone Barns 3

Stone Barns 3 by Karen Johnson is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available athttps://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

Textures used were purchased from Distressedtextures and Dirk Wuestenhagen

18 thoughts on “Stone Barns

  1. You’re heading into Andrew Wyeth territory here! These are wonderful, I’m incredibly impressed with the progress with each posting of these works of art.

Leave a Reply

