Composites

Beach Scene 1 by Karen Johnson is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available athttps://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

Hurricane Sandy took my power away for close to six days so I was not able to work on my images during that time.  I decided to post three composites I have been working on.  Composites or montages are combining elements of different photographs to create a new and surreal image.  The three composites I am posting are all composed from images I took.  I like surreal art so I had a lot of fun thinking about what the kind of mood I wanted to create. Mysterious is one.  It must be all those Nancy Drew books I read as a kid and the television series Dark Shadows. I only have three at this time because they take a very long time to conceptualize and then painstakingly cut out each piece of the image and blend it in.  I’m heading towards creating more of this type of work in the future.  I hope you enjoy them!

Lyndhurst 2 by Karen Johnson is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available athttps://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

Worlds Fair Composite by Karen Johnson is licensed under aCreative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available athttps://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Composites

  1. Mysterious they are!! I would go for…all three of them!
    That World Fair structure…is that near that giant globe near the US Open premises? I took pics of that also…but…what is it?? I asked a police man there, but he had no clue…neither

    • Thank you! The Towers are near the US Open in Corona Park, Flushing Meadows, Queens, New York. They where the Observation Towers for the New York Pavilion at the 1964 Worlds Fair, The reflecting pool in front and walkway is actually near the Worlds Fair Globe in the same park.

    • David, you got it right! Observation Towers for the New York Pavilion, 1964 World’s Fair. Very cool to photograph at night which I did (though the background with stars is a filter forge filter.).

  2. Wow.. all three are amazing.. I have such an appreciation for photographers because I just point & shoot..
    Well done Karen!!!

Leave a Reply

