Sometimes I See In Black & White

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 5 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

I love to photograph the fire escapes in New York.  The combination of light and their graphic structure just lends itself for me to see the finished photograph in black and white.  I don’t see all pictures in black and white.  It really is just looking at the composition and knowing that it will pop in black and white.  For me, a black and white photograph creates a mood.

The photograph above was taken in China Town.

This photograph really struck me because of the white fire escape against the dark background.

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 3 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

I loved the detail in this fire escape.

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 8 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com

When you process a photograph in black and white the sky becomes dynamic.

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 4 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

The following photographs are an example of a seeing a strong graphic element within the composition and making the decision to treat it in black and white.

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 2 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 1 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com

The photographs below are taken a step further where I use a pixel bender filter to abstract the image.  I just discovered this filter and I have seen a lot of work in color but very few in black and white.

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 9 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

I love the melting feel the filter creates.

Creative Commons License
Sometimes I See in B&W 7 by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com.

I believe that photography is art.  Whether a person snaps the shutter and processes that picture without any changes or uses computer generated software to push the photograph to other artistic places is a personal choice.  I was trained in photography at a time when there were not any computers  (yes we did have color television).  We shot with film and developed our negatives and then processed the image in a dark room.  I spent hours in a dark room creating a print that expressed what I had seen.  I don’t find any difference in sitting in front of  my computer except I am not locked in a dark room with toxic chemicals.  The way I approach a photograph is exactly the same.  The only difference is I don’t have to hunt around trying to figure out ways to abstract an image through the enlarger.  We did use filters back then too!  I am stating this because I really take issue with anyone stating a photograph is any less a photographic work of art because of the use of computers and software.  Art is within a person, how they express or what they use to express it is personal.

8 thoughts on “Sometimes I See In Black & White

  1. Very creative – I like the strong graphics. The pixel bender made me want to. Check my eyeglass presciption – before I read you caption….

Leave a Reply

