My Muse

Shadow of a Man

Creative Commons License
Shadow of a Man by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

“If you are seeking creative ideas, go out walking.  Angels whisper to a man when he goes for a walk.”
–   Raymond Inmon

And so the angels whisper to me when I go out to walk with my camera.  Actually I refer to the angel as my  muse.  Sometimes the muse is with me and I am inspired and other times I have no idea where the muse is.  But the photograph above and the following photographs are taken when my muse is with me.  Whispering for me to look down…

Flagstone Walk

Creative Commons License
Flagstone Walk by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

…or cross the street and capture a woman walking alone against a great wall with fantastic shadows.

She Walks in Beauty

Creative Commons License
She Walks in Beauty by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

Other times the muse will tell me to look ahead and I see a young woman in a pink.  And just by chance, a bus is passing by with another fashionable woman advertised on its side wearing a fur coat echoing the fur collar of a woman in the foreground. Chance, luck, timing?  No, it has to be my muse.

Pretty in Pink

Creative Commons License
Pretty in Pink by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

Other times my muse will just make me take a quick glance to the left to capture a man in an orange coat.

Orange Man

Creative Commons License
Orange Man by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

Sometimes you just catch a flash of color and push the shutter. But what made me walk down that particular street and stop just at the right time?  My muse.

A Flash of Red

Creative Commons License
A Flash of Red by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

I do believe that the creative process is letting go of all preconceived ideas and just being still and listening to the voice deep down inside of you.  The most important part is following the voice of the muse when you hear it.

Caught in the Late Afternoon Light

Creative Commons License
Caught in the Late Afternoon Light by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

And a sense of humor and insatiable curiosity.

Saga

Creative Commons License
Saga by Karen Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://karenjohnsonphotography.wordpress.com/.

 

2 thoughts on “My Muse

Leave a Reply

